Skip to content

Blog now open for new members!! And also, Cryptoterrestrials expected Mar. 15…

February 25, 2010

Hello and welcome, my dear Macbots…

The Mac Tonnies celebration/memorial art/writing/general creativity page is finally open! The only event that could possibly match the excitement of the release of Mac’s final book is the establishment of this page so friends around the world can share their creative works inspired by Mac. I am obviously at a loss for a title for this endeavour, specifically because I look forward to finding out what this *is* as much as everyone else. I can do my best to summarize….

In the spirit of Mac’s memory and the love he left us, this is intended to be a dynamic, creative space for artistic works dedicated to his life and last work, Cryptoterrestrials. Whether you knew him personally, or just knew of him, you are welcome to become a contributor and share photography, paintings, poetry, links to videos or songs, other creative works, or even just a note or pic to share a memory or what Mac meant to you.

Whereas this blog was set up specifically with Cryptoterrestrials in mind, submissions based on other works will not be turned away.

Word from the publisher is that the book is set to be released sometime in the middle of March, so keep your eyes here for updates!!

Also, stay tuned for instructions on how to become a contributor.

Get those pencils sharpened, wide-angle lenses polished, and thinking caps on! Be well…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. katesherrod permalink
    February 25, 2010 9:44 am

    Right away I’m thinking someone needs to submit a drawing of a grey/cryptoterrestrial wearing a metal enamel Mac Tonnies pin.

  2. February 25, 2010 12:07 pm

    Your last post is so ‘dead on’, excuse the wording but I can’t find anything else that describes how you portrayed my experiences after Mac’s death. I’m a picture person and like I said previously, nobody image shopped like Mac. Through the last few months I’ve seen things I wanted to bring to his attention but couldn’t.

    This was such a great idea of yours! Mac memoirs. Move over John Keel, Charles Fort, Philip K. Dick and all you transhumists and posthumanists and make room for Mac because he’s back!

    Again, great idea of yours!

  3. Elan permalink
    February 26, 2010 1:44 pm

    Thank you for this blog.
    It is a wonderful way to remember Mac.
    Over the years, I used to tease Mac by PhotoShopping pictures of him.
    I transformed a restaurant visit in Canada into a Crypto encounter and another time turned Mac into a Borg…
    I’ll post what I have when you can upload the images and unveil, at some point, a big Crypto image I was working on as a surprise in anticipation of his new book.
    We miss you, Mac…

    • February 26, 2010 5:12 pm

      Oh, I want to see those photoshop pics. Elan! Can’t wait!!!

      • Elan permalink
        March 18, 2010 3:14 pm

        Hi Everyone,
        Work and personal issues have been taking much of my time, but I am very happy to report that Mac’s dear Mother sent me an envelope full of Mac’s various alien and otherworldly drawings. I will be designing a full 24 by 36” poster with Mac’s drawings, the covers of his books and a few surprises…if it meets with his Mother’s approval, I will post it for posterity.

  4. February 26, 2010 4:06 pm

    The response to this idea has been wonderful… I can hardly wait to see what you all come up with!!

    Will post instructions on contributing within the next 12 hours…..!

  5. March 15, 2010 3:06 am

    Nice! Thank you Betta

Leave a Reply

