Skip to content

The Trickster

March 18, 2010
by
The Trickster

Are we being deliberately confused?

I remember painting this on a Saturday morning about a year ago.  Truthfully, I’d almost forgotten it until today, when I came across the thumbnail while looking through my Flickr photostream and paring out the old junk I tend to accumulate there.

This was an image I had in my head after listening to a (somewhat rare) interview with Jacques Vallee, and then discussing Vallee’s point of view regarding ‘aliens’ and otherwise weird happenings with Mac via Twitter.  At that point, of course, he was already swimming in the waters that would become Cryptoterrestrials. While I wasn’t a stranger to the argument that our ‘alien visitors’ were perhaps not so alien after all, Mac had an expansive way of explaining this profound notion that was nevertheless down-to-earth ( if you’ll pardon my pun) and perfectly reasonable.

In this, Mac was a bit of a gateway drug for me.   At this point, while I remain generally skeptical and try to keep an objective mind, I am perhaps a bit more skeptical of the extraterrestrial explanation for the strange lights and bizarre encounters we and our neighbors strut and fret about now and then.

I don’t know the answer to the question, but I strongly suspect it is weirder than we can begin to imagine.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 9:37 pm

    I think this is the first artwork of yours I ever saw, Chris. As I recall it was Mac who showed it to me. The image sprang to my mind this afternoon as I was reading in CRYPTOTERRESTRIALS; Mac speculates a lot in there that the spaceship and alien imagery we’ve come to know and love is part of a deliberate effort on the part of our mysterious maybe-neighbors to distract us — a campaign of disinformation, he calls it. It’s a wonderfully interesting idea and a wonderfully amusing image you’ve created. I’m glad to see it here.

  2. CapnMarrrrk permalink
    March 19, 2010 12:01 am

    That’s exactly how I picture the CTs. Wearing curly mustaches. Great illustration.

  3. March 19, 2010 6:13 am

    Nice!

  4. March 19, 2010 7:01 pm

    I hope you don’t mind isoban, but I took the liberty of using your art as my header picture for the day while linking it back here to your post. I knew it would work well as an item for others to really want to click into in order to get familiar with MacBots.

    Take a looksee, I did it justice.

    The Trickster

    P.S. all, I still miss Mac something horrible. Tears still come to my eyes when I see his picture.

  5. brownie permalink
    March 19, 2010 11:09 pm

    With all due respect to Mac Tonnies book – it’s not a new idea. John Keel and Jacques Vallee ventured into the metaterrestrial/ultraterrestrial ‘control system’ and purposeful confusion (trickster behavior) of so-called ‘aliens’ many decades ago. They wrote copiously and eloquently about it in their several books, mostly based on their own, longterm field investigations.

    • isoban permalink
      March 20, 2010 1:36 am

      Thanks for replying. Yes, Vallee in particular was very eloquent on the topic. Mac wasn’t reinventing the wheel and certainly didn’t claim to. As you’ve said, it was decades ago, and Vallee himself has lamented that, since writing his books, not much has changed in our understanding of these weird happenings. It all remains just as baffling as ever. I can’t speak for Mac, of course, but I think he really wanted these ideas to be dragged back out and held up to the light again.
      I think Vallee would probably really like the new book.

      • March 20, 2010 5:48 pm

        Has anyone contacted Vallee to send him a copy?

    • March 23, 2010 12:11 pm

      Vallee and Keel are referenced throughout the book, so he acknowledges that.

      • March 23, 2010 3:25 pm

        Thanks for responding to this, guys, as few of us actually have the book yet. Anyone know how we might contact these fellows?

  6. March 23, 2010 3:57 pm

    Great illustration!!

Leave a Reply

