Skip to content

Remembering Mac Tonnies

March 19, 2010

Mac Tonnies

Cryptoterrestrials

I did an interview with Macbots founder Blazingbetta and Mac Tonnies archivist Cap’n Marrrk over at my blog Technoccult. Here’s an excerpt:

So what made you decide to start a tribute site?

A couple reasons, I guess. In the first place, I guess I wanted to preserve the sense of community that had developed as a result of his death. You see, I had met many people through Twitter just as a result of sharing condolences and updating people on what we knew of the situation (no one really knew what had happened, and it was kinda crazy the first week or two) I had seen these people on Twitter through mac’s retweets, but I began to seriously talk to them only after his passing.

It struck me that so many of these people that I had met were creative or artistic in some way.

So on the one hand, I thought that creating a site just for fan art would be a fun way to commemorate the special person he was.

When I suggested that, people picked up on it right away, and i thought, well if people like the idea and want to remember this special time, maybe we could even put the art into print for ourselves to have a lasting piece I guess I was thinking that a site like this would also help with the grieving process.

Also, Mac’s lasting impact seemed, for most people, to be his sense of joy and imagination… he just seemed to inspire people.

So I thought, when his final book comes out, let’s all be imaginative with him. I knew once I had the book in my hands, I would be illustrating to it, and I thought others would have fun doing that, too. I guess that’s how it REALLY started in my head… just a way to have fun with our last message from mac…and once I got thinking about it, i realized it might be healing for people, too.

Full Story: Technoccult

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 2:23 am

    Found this at TECHNO-OCCULT earlier, great interview. Serves as a very insightful ‘mission statement’….. A lot of potential for creative minded people to further blossom and share here.

Leave a Reply

