Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Mac!!!

August 20, 2010

It is with a mix of sadness and joy that I post today, on Mac’s 35th birthday. His continued presence through his friends’ blogposts and tweets prove that he is still very much with us!

I would like to draw attention to a very special entry posted today by our friend Dia Sobin. This beautiful reflection digs a little into the date Mac was born, and comes up with some surprising and spectacular results! Read her entry at Araqinta here:
http://araqinta.blogspot.com/2010/08/remembering-mac-on-his-birthday.html

Also dear to my heart this week, Macbot Kate wrote a sonnet dedicated to our effort in naming a crater on Mars for Mac. Enjoy!
http://suppertimesonnets.blogspot.com/2010/08/crater-please-for-mac.html

Sending warmest thoughts to all Mac’s family, friends, and anyone else missing him today.

*sarah*

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 9:18 pm

    Thanks, Sarah!

    But, what’s the deal on that super-cool cake?!

    ox
    D

    • August 20, 2010 9:47 pm

      I wish that I had made it. 😦 Alas, I only found it on teh internets… But as soon as I saw it, I knew it had to be Mac’s! 😀

      Not too many images floating around Google of aliens wishing one a happy birthday!! But I think he’d like the cake!

  2. August 20, 2010 9:40 pm

    The cake is truly spectacular! How he would love it!

    Crossing my psychic fingers on a pretty much permanent basis for #MacsCrater

    If they don’t give him one officially, I say we pick the best one closest to the Face and just start calling it the Mac Tonnies crater. Folk names can often overtake official ones, after all!

    • August 20, 2010 9:57 pm

      We have 2+ years to wait for the naming committee to make their decision… A hunt for an unclaimed crater sounds fun! I’m intrigued…. A real-life crater hunt….

      Wait, you have psychic fingers??!

  3. CapnMarrrrk permalink
    August 21, 2010 12:28 am

    Happy Birthday Mac,
    It’s true, Mac is still in my heart. I wanted to go to KC for his birthday but alas I have family in this weekend for a funeral. I would really like to get to Latte Land the weekend of October 16th and hoist a cup of joe and shoot the shit with MiscreantDesign, AmuckDesign, Bob & Dana and whomever can get down there for a celebration of Mac. Start planning now.

    Thanks to Dia for the post at her site, Kate for the sonnet and Sarah for the cake, and of course Mac the glue. I’ll repost it here for Dia who doesn’t tweet:

    @mactonnies Birthaday. Bittersweet. Mac’s Passing BITTER > Sweet. New friends who meet as a result: Bitter < SWEET #InMemoryOf

    • August 26, 2010 11:38 pm

      This is a great idea, Mark, and one I hope to be able to take part in!

      Feel free to post here to get any logistics worked out!

  4. August 21, 2010 2:51 pm

    Sarah, re: cake – great find, perfect cake!

    Mark – a “Mac-meet-up” in KC in October? Sounds like an intriguing plan. I’ve always felt that those of us who really cared about Mac should meet at some point – perhaps this is just the ticket!

Leave a Reply

