Skip to content

Planning a Mac tribute concert

March 21, 2011
by

Greeting earthlings and fellow Macbots,

 

Being a booker/promoter/musician here in my home state of Indiana, I set up about 2 or 3 events a month featuring a lot of cool, original bands from the area. I’ve been considering it for awhile now, but think I might just hold a MAC TONNIES TRIBUTE type of event sometime in May, and dedicate the show to concepts of futurism/ufology/conspiracy and the like.

 

I just wanted to get some feedback on this event should it occur, and some of your thoughts on things I could do to make this show really cool and best highlight the life and research of Mac Tonnies. Likewise, what charity do you believe would be “Mac approved” to donate the funds to? Hope to get some ideas regarding this possibility, and of course I could keep all Mac fans updated with pics and video from the event.

 

Please shoot me some ideas on how to make this event really special, of course I’d include some pamphlets and leaflets regarding Mac’s contribution of research and bibliography… Thanks y’all..!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 7:19 pm

    An alternative, or supplement, to this might be to solicit appropriate songs from some like-minded bands in order to put out a tribute CD (with proceeds benefiting a charity).

  2. March 21, 2011 7:50 pm

    TDE, that would be cool as well. I’m not opposed to the idea and would definitely help get the ball rolling, however having tried to do compilation CD’s in the past, I know it can be tricky getting everybody together under one cause, and a time/$ consuming effort. Planning an event is what I already do, so much easier for me to set up something at one of the bars I book with and get 5 or 6 good bands on for the evening…

  3. March 21, 2011 7:50 pm

    What charity do we think would most suit Mac’s tastes?

    • March 22, 2011 10:34 am

      mad, this is a great idea, and I will try to come up with suggestions in the next couple of days.. in the meantime, I can email Mac’s parents and see if they have any ideas!

    • May 27, 2011 1:00 pm

      Hi again, mad! I emailed Mac’s parents, and his mom replied. She wrote,

      “I read the post about the possible concert. I don’t think there’s any question as to what charity to support. Mac would have chosen an animal shelter, preferably one that doesn’t euthanize. One in the town where the concert is held would be fine.”

      Dana has been very open to all these Mac-related projects popping up, and would be happy to talk about it further if you decided to move forward with this!

  4. March 22, 2011 12:31 pm

    Excellent, thanks very much!

Leave a Reply

